Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

National Advisory Council

Our National Advisory Council (NAC) is composed of national cross-sector leaders from public health, healthcare, philanthropy, government, community development, and finance. The NAC supports Build Healthy Places Network with strategic decisions and outreach by lending their expertise, guidance, input, and networks.

Tina N. Castro, CFA

Co-Founder and Managing Partner

Avivar Capital

David Erickson

Senior Vice President & Head of Outreach & Education

Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Cara V. James

President and Chief Executive Officer

Grantmakers In Health

Jen Giovannitti


Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation

Seung Kim

Senior Vice President


Michelle Matthews

Executive Vice President of Strategy and Impact

Purpose Built Communities

Tom Morris

Associate Administrator for Rural Health Policy in the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Dr. Linda Rae Murray

Chief Medical Officer

Cook County, Illinois, Department of Public Health

Tony Pickett

Chief Executive Officer

Grounded Solutions Network

Kendra Smith

NAC Chair

Bon Secours Mercy Health

Lanalle Smith

Senior Programs Officer, Capacity Building

Oweesta Corporation

Robyn Taylor

Vice President of the Center for Justice in Public Health

National Association of Chronic Disease Directors

Jesse Villalobos

Senior Director of Place-Based Initiatives

Race Forward

John Vu

Vice President of Strategy, Community Health

Kaiser Permanente